Pell Center Prize

Launched in 2013, the Pell Center Prize for Story in the Public Square is an award is given each year to a storyteller whose work contributes to public understanding on important issues.

2015 Winner | Lisa Genova

Lisa Genova speaks at the Pell Center to accept her 2015 Pell Center prize for Story in the Public Square

Lisa Genova is on a mission. The Harvard-trained neuroscientist and author of four best-selling novels, including Still Alice and the recently published Inside the O’Briens, wants to use the books she writes to change lives, end stigma, and create a world where we can talk about survivors of Alzheimer’s and other neurological diseases and conditions.

2014 Winner | Danny Strong

Danny Strong reacts while receiving his award from Sister Jane Gerety during the Story in the Public Square Conference at Salve.

Emmy-winning screenwriter, producer and actor Danny Strong received the second annual Pell Center Prize for Story in the Public Square. Strong — whose screenwriting credits include Recount, Game Change, Lee Daniels’ The Butler, and Mockingjay, the two-part Hunger Games finale — examines inequality, racism, politics and other pressing themes of our time in his work.

2013 Winner | Dana Priest

Dana Priest

Dana Priest, a two-time Pulitzer Prize winning journalist for the Washington Post, was named the inaugural winner of the Pell Center Prize for Story in the Public Square. Priest was honored for her lifetime of work, with special focus on her reporting—along with colleagues Anne Hull and Michel du Cille–on deplorable conditions at the old Walter Reed Army Medical Center in 2007.